Buffy Reflections: Season 5

I’d heard this was the one. The year where Buffy reached its peak and earned its chance to bow out gracefully before a questionable (but still plenty rewarding) change of network and two more seasons that didn’t quite overstay their welcome, but also weren’t as all-around great. We’ll see.

For now, I can say the fifth season was some damn fine television. Maybe not as rewarding as the second or third—in my book there’s just no beating Angel, Faith, and the Mayor—but certainly more refined. The momentum of the central arc was maintained from beginning to end in so elegant a manner that the series felt far less episodic than in the past. Everything moved the story forwards, a definite step up from season four.

Dawn’s introduction at the end of the pilot was a surprise. I knew she was coming, but I thought that happened next season. While I was under the impression that she was disliked by most of the fan base, I was happy to find that I didn’t mind her after a little getting used to. Whenever she was annoying it seemed purposeful.

The same can’t be said for Riley, a major drain on the first half of the episodes. I remember thinking he was alright last year, if nothing special. Here he was unbearable. Thankfully he got the unceremonious sendoff he deserved (sans embarrassing death).

Spike, on the other hand, got a major boost. Last year it was as if they weren’t sure what role they wanted him to fill, but having him fall in love with Buffy was superb, sad, hilarious stuff that gave us episodes like “Fool for Love” and “Intervention.”

As for the Scoobies, Xander was fine, continuing his romance with the ever-more-likable Anya, and Willow in turn grew closer to her girlfriend Tara. A couple of fantastic relationships.

I was a bit disappointed by Giles’s place in the show, now a bit sidelined, but at least there was some good material with him now owning the magic shop.

On the antagonistic side of things, Glory was a great big bad—distinct from any of the other evil forces we’d seen thus far and always a major threat that could still provide some twisted comic relief.

On that note, “Triangle” was another favorite, probably the most fun installment of a dark season that rarely pulled any punches. Case in point, “The Body” lived up to its notorious reputation in how it depicted the characters’ immediate reactions to the sudden death of Buffy’s mother Joyce. Beautiful, heartbreaking, and all around agonizing to watch, it’s among the greatest television episodes I’ve ever seen. Even non-fans of the show owe it to themselves to check it out.

If this had been the last season, I’m not sure what the enduring effect of Buffy’s death would have been. As it stands, it was a perfect finale for this particular story, with our heroine making the ultimate sacrifice to save those she loved.

After a month-long holiday break without the show, I’m more than ready for her resurrection.

2 comments on “Buffy Reflections: Season 5

  1. maetta says:

    Triangle is also one of my fave episodes.

  2. I’m very glad it didn’t end with The Gift. Don’t get me wrong – it makes me cry and hits all the right emotional buttons on the surface, but after reflecting a bit, it makes sense: this is the fate of all Slayers, but Buffy isn’t just any Slayer, she’s the one who defies prophecy and changes the rules. Which she does in the Gift, but to do so by dying feels unsatisfying. It feels even more unsatisfying when I think of it on a metaphorical level, how women are traditionally expected to sacrifice themselves for their families, their children, etc and Buffy is just playing out the traditional feminine role. I’m not sure that I’d call the show “femininst” so much as “a show with some feminist messages” – and I don’t expect or want a diatribe, either, but it feels like the wrong way to end a show about a strong female hero. I’m glad that the show didn’t end with the image of
    Buffy’s headstone.

    100% about Riley. I actually sort of liked him in S4 (compared to most of fandom, I take it) but he becomes intolerable in S5. Part of that is the way the text (the show) seems to want us to take his side and believe Buffy doesn’t love him, Buffy is neglecting him etc; apparently the writers were trying to convey one message and I felt quite another – “Grow up and grow a pair, Riley, you’re a big boy and your fantasies about love are as unhealthy as Angel’s”.

Leave a Reply

